Torrevieja Forum

To Sponsor This Section, Please Contact Gary.
Anything Relating To Schools Within The Torrevieja Area.

Moderator: Moderator

By dreamteam
hi

we are planning to move over to spain in the new year with our 3 kids.there ages are 14,6 and 4.if we come over in april can we get them into the schools for remainder of term or should we wait to sept for term beginning.
any info would be great

thanks
gerry
By GAL
I'm no expert on this but the sooner they start the better and your very 1st thing is to get a Padron because you need this to register them at school
By Deb64
The procedure for getting into the Spanish Schools has changed a lot since mine joined in 2005, do your homework before coming out here so you know what it entails, I hear that you need to jump through hoops now by having the following papers.
Padron
residencia (think you have to prove your income now)
NIE number for child.

Have a read through previous posts on the schools section as it will give you some idea about the spanish system.
By Deb64
dreamteam wrote:hi

they seem to look for alot of things.if you get all the paperwork can you enroll them before term ends then?

cheers
gerry

Yes its usually up till about 25th May for the next schooly year. If you are wanting them to go in this year before school breaks up in June then you will have to see what the school says. Don't forget that you have to buy all your text books which cost between 200 - 300 euros per child along with stationary so joining the school for a month or two will work out very expensive.
If your children don't speak the language especially the 14 yr old I would use the time with a language teacher to learn as much as they can, this would be more benificial than being in school and not understanding any of the lessons for the last term.